Ministry of Defence of the Russian Federation : More

Bulletin of the Russian Centre for reconciliation of opposing sides in the Syrian Arab Republic (May 6, 2017)

Reconciliation of opposing sides

Total number of inhabited areas, the leaders of which had signed reconciliation agreements remained 1,479.

Negotiations on joining ceasefire regime have been continued with field commanders of detachments of armed opposition in the Aleppo, Damascus, Homs, Hama, and al-Quneitra provinces.

The number of armed formations, which had claimed to observe the ceasefire regime in accordance to the Reconciliation Agreement dating February 27, 2016, has reached 148.

Ceasefire observation

The Memorandum on creation of the de-escalation zones in the Syrian Arab Republic, which had been signed by the Russia, Turkey, and Iran, has come into force since 00.00 on May 6, 2017.

Implementation of the Memorandum will allow to separate the opposition from the ISIS and Jabhat al-Nusra terrorist formations as well as grant an access to the de-escalation zones for providing medical, product, and other assistance to the population.

In accordance to the Joint Agreement on complex settling the Syrian conflict, ceasefire regime has been established starting from 00:00 on December 30, 2016.

The number of armed formations of the Syrian opposition, which had joined the ceasefire regime, remained 65.

Within last 24 hours, the Russian party of the Russia-Turkey Commission on violations of the Joint Agreement has registered 15 ceasefire violations in the provinces of Damascus (9), Hama (3), Latakia (2), and Daraa (1).

The Turkish party has registered 11 cases of ceasefire violations in the provinces of Damascus (4), Daraa (2), Hama (2), Homs (1), Aleppo (1), and Idlib (1).

The Russian party has not confirmed 11 cases of ceasefire violation, which had been registered by the Turkish party.

© Ministry of Defence of the Russian Federation